Tanzania’s ratification of the AfCFTA: What does it imply?

November 5, 2021 The Citizen 0 Comments

Tanzania as it became the 39th country in Africa to deposit its instrument of ratification of the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA). The other East African Community (EAC) member countries of Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda and Burundi had ratified the agreement earlier, and – with Tanzania now on-board – only South Sudan that has not ratified the agreement.

The relevance of ratification is that it is the necessary legal instrument for a country to be bound to an international agreement. In particular, much as an international agreement may have entered into force, it binds only those states that have consented to be bound by it. Read More.

Leave a Reply:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.