Kigali Communique outlines principles for a just and equitable energy transition

May 23, 2022 AELEX Admin 0 Comments

During the global SEforALL Forum in Kigali from 17-19 May 2022, Ministers and high-level representatives from the Democratic Republic of Congo, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Morocco, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Uganda, and Zimbabwe met to discuss the requirements for a just and equitable energy transition in Africa. The meetings were facilitated by the Rwanda ministry of infrastructure, SEforAll and ECA.


The outcome of this Ministerial meeting was the Kigali Communique from the 10 countries that expresses seven key principles to address development gaps, and to put Africa on a pathway, aligned with the Paris Agreement on climate change, to economic prosperity and Net-Zero.

Download the Kigali Communique here

Read more…

Leave a Reply:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.