Experts meet to review the ECA-AUC policy report on the AU Free Movement of Persons Protocol

March 27, 2023 AELEX Admin 0 Comments

African leaders adopted the Protocol to the Treaty Establishing the African Economic Community Relating to Free Movement of Persons, Right of Residence and Right of Establishment in 2018 to demonstrate the imperative of the free movement of persons for continental integration, particularly for the effective implementation of the AfCFTA. However, as of July 2022, the Protocol has only been ratified by four countries: – Rwanda, Niger, Sao Tome and Principe, and Mali – far below the 15-ratification threshold required for it to come into force.

Read more

Leave a Reply:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.