AfCFTA offers massive economic opportunities, but there is still much work to be done

April 26, 2021 Biz Community 0 Comments

The Africa Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) agreement came into effect on the 1 January 2021. A total of 54 of Africa’s 55 countries have agreed, in principle, to participate in the agreement, and 41 have submitted their tariff offers. However, to date, only 34 countries have officially signed it and four have ratified it. In principle, a total of 15 countries need to ratify the agreement in order to enable its full enforcement on the continent. If successfully implemented, this will be the largest free trade area agreement in the world. Read More.

Leave a Reply:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.