AfCFTA gathers 40 ratifications

July 14, 2021 New Times 0 Comments

The number of countries that ratified the African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA) agreement has increased to 40 with the recent ratification of Zambia, Malawi, Algeria and Burundi, a top official told reporters on Friday, July 9.

Secretary-General Wamkele Mene was addressing his second quarterly press briefing. He noted that the DR Congo, Seychelles and Burundi ratified but are yet to deposit their instruments of ratification, quickly adding: “But it’s a very positive signal, the fact that 40 countries have ratified.” “This is a very important development,” Mene noted, adding that he recently visited Tanzania and had fruitful discussions with its leaders. Read More.


Leave a Reply:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.